United Way

IBM won the Michael J. Harris Spirit of Tucson Award. Pictured are Juan Guerrero, zSystems lab support; Mohamed Enjai, storage lab support lead; Rene Talamante, systems support specialist; Tony Penn, president and chief executive officer , United Way of Tucson and Southern Arizona; Samantha Bernau, DS8K microcode development; Tyler Hanson, AG development support for cloud and flash storage; Mike Hernandez, Tucson senior site operations lead; and Charlotte Harris, local philanthropist. (United Way/Submitted)

In its annual celebration of outstanding community champions who volunteer their time, talent and resources to build a thriving community, United Way of Tucson and Southern Arizona selected and honored its 19th annual Circle of Excellence Awards winners recently at the Doubletree by Hilton at Reid Park.

The event was emceed by United Way of Tucson and Southern Arizona’s past board chair Edmund Marquez. In addition, Allison Duffy, president of Silverado Technologies, served as campaign chair leading the team through a successful campaign for a second year in a row.

• Best of the Best Employee Campaign Leader of the Year: Judy Cooper, procurement officer, Pima County

• Rookie of the Year: Shannon Anderson, client and community relationship specialist, PNC Bank, Arizona

• Live United Award: Pima Council on Aging

• Building a Better Community Award: Caterpillar Inc.

• Cornerstone Award: UA Cares Ambassadors, University of Arizona

• Time, Talent, Treasure Award: Deepa Dalvi, director and project leader, Roche Tissue Diagnostics

• Champions of Caring Award: AGM Container Controls

• Partnership Award: Tucson Electric Power

• All American Award: Mary Rowley, CEO/managing partner, NuPoint Marketing & Market Research

• Best Small Company: Rick Engineering

• Best Medium Company: QuikTrip

• Best Large Company: Freeport-McMoRan

The Michael J. Harris Spirit of Tucson Award, given to the company that demonstrates excellence in corporate involvement and community leadership, went to IBM. Harris was one of the community’s most dedicated citizens, as well as a great friend and champion of United Way of Tucson and Southern Arizona. Last year’s Michael J. Harris Award winner was GEICO.

“Our community is truly enriched to have the individuals, institutions, and companies, who were awarded today, living, working and giving back here, in Southern Arizona,” stated Tony Penn, president and CEO of United Way of Tucson and Southern Arizona.  

“We are so pleased to be able to honor not only our award recipients but those nominated as well, knowing that all gave something to make the lives of those we serve more equitable, more prosperous, and more fulfilling.  And for that, we thank them all.”