Arizona voters gave our state’s minimum wage workers a $1.95 an hour wage increase by passing Proposition 206. But, there’s more. All workers will now get paid sick leave. Here’s what you need to know:
- On January 1, 2017, the minimum wage in Arizona increases from $8.05 to $10 per hour.
- Minimum wage increases $0.50 each year thereafter until it is $12 in 2020, and then is annually adjusted based on cost of living.
- Tip income reduction of $3 an hour remains, and other exemptions from Arizona’s Minimum Wage Act still apply.
- All employers must provide paid sick leave, which can be used for physical or mental illness, to care for a family member, a public-health emergency, domestic violence, sexual violence or stalking. Employers with 15 or more employees must provide at least 40 hours a year. Employers with less than 15 employees must provide at leave 24 hours a year.
- Full-time, part-time and temporary workers count equally toward the thresholds above.
- Leave shall accrue at a minimum of one hour for every 30 hours worked. Leave begins to accrue at the beginning of employment or July 1, 2017, whichever is later.
- Employees hired after July 1, 2017, can be forced to wait 90 days before using accrued leave. Employees hired before July 1, 2017, can use leave as soon as it accrues.
- Employees can carry over hours into a new year, but cannot use more than the limits above in any year.
- Employers cannot discriminate or retaliate against an employee for using or raising his or her rights.
- Employers must give employees written notices of their rights, at least in English and Spanish, at the commencement of employment or by July 1, 2017, whichever is later.
Barney Holtzman is the managing director of Fennemore Craig’s Tucson office and practices in the areas of labor and employment law, financial services and commercial litigation. He can be reached at 520-879-6810 or by email, firstname.lastname@example.org. To learn more about Fennemore Craig, visit www.fennemorecraig.com.